Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, make sure to follow us on Twitter! Say hi and we'll be sure to follow back!

Google Sitemap Problems

Discussion in 'Opencart Support' started by paulyh, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. paulyh

    paulyh UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 72 Likes: 6
    Hi everyone, having a bit of an issue with my website. I have enabled the google sitemap under the feeds extension and have submitted the url to google but it is saying that it is an invalid url.

    What could be causing this?

    Cheers Paul
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: paulyh Member since: Nov 25, 2014
    #1
  2. PipeTen-Carl

    PipeTen-Carl UKBF Regular Full Member

    Posts: 487 Likes: 108
    Most likely either your server is sending the wrong content type (text/html rather than application/xml), your sitemap contains errors / invalid xml, you are not entering the right URL, or your website is blocking or not otherwise allowing Google to fetch it. Hard to say without the URL, though I guess you might not be allowed to post it here :/
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: PipeTen-Carl Member since: Mar 6, 2010
    #2
  3. paulyh

    paulyh UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 72 Likes: 6
    I don't think I can post the URL. If I sent you a pm, could you take a look?
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: paulyh Member since: Nov 25, 2014
    #3
  4. PipeTen-Carl

    PipeTen-Carl UKBF Regular Full Member

    Posts: 487 Likes: 108
    Not sure if there is a delay in the private messaging system or if it is moderated, but afraid I don't see any messages. I sent you a private message, see if you can reply to that.
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: PipeTen-Carl Member since: Mar 6, 2010
    #4
  5. PipeTen-Carl

    PipeTen-Carl UKBF Regular Full Member

    Posts: 487 Likes: 108
    Received.

    The XML is valid and the mime-type correct... I am not seeing any specific blockage on fetching the sitemap unless it was specific to the Google...

    Are you sure it is not saying the links within the sitemap are errornous, not the sitemap itself? Is no other information presented in the Google error?
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: PipeTen-Carl Member since: Mar 6, 2010
    #5
  6. paulyh

    paulyh UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 72 Likes: 6
    When I go into the webmaster console. It says:
    Invalid URL,
    This is not a valid URL. Please correct it and resubmit

    I have deleted the sitemap from google and uninstalled/reinstalled the extension in opencart and tried adding the sitemap again but keep getting the same error.
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: paulyh Member since: Nov 25, 2014
    #6
  7. paulyh

    paulyh UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 72 Likes: 6
    In the example column on the webmaster tools it says:

    Parent tag: image
    Tag: loc
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: paulyh Member since: Nov 25, 2014
    #7
  8. PipeTen-Carl

    PipeTen-Carl UKBF Regular Full Member

    Posts: 487 Likes: 108
    OK, so it's not a problem with the sitemap URL, it is a problem with the sitemaps contents.

    Based on "image > loc" I believe it is erroring on your emerald-5-x-4mm-and-diamond-9ct-yellow-gold-teardrop-pendant where you have defined <image:loc/> (meaning empty image) but still defining other image properties (such as <image:caption>).

    Try setting an image for that product, or try removing it from the sitemap, it that fixes your problem then you know what to research further in the plugin in use.
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: PipeTen-Carl Member since: Mar 6, 2010
    #8
  9. paulyh

    paulyh UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 72 Likes: 6
    Thank you so much, been scratching my head for hours on this.

    Removed them from the sitemap and it has removed the error warning.

    Thanks again
    Paul
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: paulyh Member since: Nov 25, 2014
    #9
  10. PipeTen-Carl

    PipeTen-Carl UKBF Regular Full Member

    Posts: 487 Likes: 108
    Nice one, maybe raise it with the plugin developer.
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: PipeTen-Carl Member since: Mar 6, 2010
    #10
  11. paulyh

    paulyh UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 72 Likes: 6
    It was one of the extensions that comes with opencart, which was why I couldn't understand why it wouldn't work.
     
    Posted: Feb 25, 2016 By: paulyh Member since: Nov 25, 2014
    #11
  12. antropy

    antropy ecommerce experts Full Member - Verified Business

    Posts: 2,504 Likes: 429
  13. WebDesires

    WebDesires UKBF Regular Full Member

    Posts: 172 Likes: 20
    The default Google xml generator in Opencart is not very good I'm afraid, had to 'improve' it many times for clients. It's just not up to scratch!
     
    Posted: Mar 25, 2016 By: WebDesires Member since: Feb 23, 2016
    #13
  14. TechnokratsSujata

    TechnokratsSujata UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 7 Likes: 1
    Is Opencart is SEO friendly? in general.
     
    Posted: May 20, 2016 By: TechnokratsSujata Member since: Apr 26, 2016
    #14
  15. antropy

    antropy ecommerce experts Full Member - Verified Business

    Posts: 2,504 Likes: 429
    It is pretty good by default, but it can usually do with a few SEO extensions to make it really optimized.
     
    Posted: May 20, 2016 By: antropy Member since: Aug 2, 2010
    #15
  16. paulyh

    paulyh UKBF Contributor Free Member

    Posts: 72 Likes: 6
    I didn't think it was too bad but ended up going back to woocommerce in the end.
     
    Posted: May 25, 2016 By: paulyh Member since: Nov 25, 2014
    #16
  17. Jaime Ruiz

    Jaime Ruiz UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    Posts: 1 Likes: 0
    I am Jaime from women's delights store. I want to rank my site and add XML sitemap. But I don't know How can i do this? You can see my womens fashion accessories online shopify site. But I can't give you the site link on this forum.
     
    Posted: May 26, 2016 By: Jaime Ruiz Member since: May 25, 2016
    #17
  18. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    Posts: 26,395 Likes: 7,783
    Posted: May 26, 2016 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #18