Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, make sure to follow us on Twitter! Say hi and we'll be sure to follow back!

Advice on an investor who wants 50/50

Discussion in 'Financing your startup' started by Kieran1, May 8, 2016.

1. Kieran1

Kieran1 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

Hello, I have an early-stage start-up which has yet to begin selling. It’s in the healthy food niche and will be an organic product.

There is someone who is willing to invest £5000 for 50% of my company. As it hasn’t sold anything yet all I have is the potential worth. This investor has been there and done it with a company in the same niche but with a different product. I am new to all of this and I’m still learning so I would appreciate any advice.

Thanks

Posted: May 8, 2016 By: Kieran1 Member since: May 5, 2016
  2. Gecko001

Gecko001 UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

If you are unsure about it, do not do it and if you are sure about it, then do not go 50/50. A business always needs someone in charge.

Posted: May 8, 2016 By: Gecko001 Member since: Apr 21, 2011
  3. consultant

consultant I Can Help Your Business Staff Member

If 5k is all you need, get the money elsewhere!

Posted: May 8, 2016 By: consultant Member since: Jan 21, 2008
  4. cjd

cjd UKBF Legend Full Member - Verified Business

£5k is trivial money - it buy nothing at all, it's totally useless. Get it on your credit card. For god's sake get a grip.

Posted: May 8, 2016 By: cjd Member since: Nov 23, 2005
  5. Kieran1

Thanks for the replies. This is my first time running a business so I'm new to a lot of things. Plus I'm self-taught and have not gotten any business qualifications etc. so I may make mistakes along the way.

The thing is, this guy is successful with his other company in the same niche and he would bring a lot to the table. He would do things I would never have thought of and help make it a success. It would be more than the money that he would bring.

Is this still a bad idea to go 50/50 with him?

6. I_DO_MARKETING