123-reg, how to upload webpage?

Discussion in 'IT & Internet' started by Tim_Bruce, Feb 8, 2008.

1. Tim_Bruce

Tim_Bruce UKBF Regular Free Member

Hello folks,

I'm a newbie with registration and uploading website stuff and hopefully you can help me with this.

I've registered with 123-reg my website
    August 2007. But I've never managed to upload my webpage which I've written in html-code. The only thing which is currently uploaded is the page using this "instant builder" provided by 123-reg.

Now, my questions are:
    1. How do I upload my own website? I don't want this
    silly website which was constructed with the "instant
    builder"?
    2. Although my website is online for over half year
    why can I not find it on Google?

Many thanks,
    Tim
    Posted: Feb 8, 2008 By: Tim_Bruce Member since: Feb 7, 2008
  2. Leo-InstallingIT

Leo-InstallingIT UKBF Regular Full Member - Verified Business

Hi

In order to upload your website you will need FTP access. You should be able to find the details for this in your control panel.

It will be an address you are a username and password.
    The address is likely to be something like ftp://ftp.yoursite.com for example.
    You should be able to type this into internet explorer, and it will ask you for a username and password. If you enter your 1-2-3 detail it should let you in.
    Then you should be able to replace the files that are currently on there with the new ones.

Google will only find your site if you have other sites linking to it, or you submit the url to them. You can submit it at : http://www.google.com/addurl/

I hope this helps.
    Please let me know if you need more detailed instructions & do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions.

Many Thanks

Leo
    Posted: Feb 8, 2008 By: Leo-InstallingIT Member since: Oct 7, 2006
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Tim_Bruce

Tim_Bruce UKBF Regular Free Member

Hi Leo,

Thanks for the quick reply!:)