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make sure you negotiate on the click charges as they can be really over priced and there is definitely negotiable prices if you have a decent store.
Very true! average cpc even at 'negotiated rate' still tends to be between 10-20p which is quite a lot.
Its simple to work out if its worth it or not.
Formula I use: (example - use your own figures)
averages sale profit = £5
average conversion rate of your shop visitor - > customer = 4%
cpc = 15p x 100 = £15 / 4 (customers I expect to convert) = £3.75
So in this example its barely worth it, once I've paid £15 for 100 clicks at that rate and processed another 4 orders, total profit £20 I would be £5 richer. The cpc company would probably be making more out of each click than I would.
If your conversion rate is 6% or better and you make at least the average profit above then CPC would work very well and would be a guaranteed route to growth.
I take it you are already using Google Base which is free?
Thanks for the comments, yeap using google base and adwords and the conversion rate is around 8-9% at the moment as i have quite unique products and quite good prices when you compare the market...
At the moment i am looking to generate sales and turnover rather than making high profits , and all my competitors are using these channels and am sure generating sales...