PDA

View Full Version : WARNING -AUCTIVA HACKED (maybe)


David P
23rd February 2009, 11:19
Hi
Just went to auctiva and the search result from google said that it was a potentially dangerous site.

After looking into it it appears auctiva has possibly been hacked. Lots of people have been getting warning messages from various virus detectors. Also some people on the boards are saying they have got viruses after visiting it.
Clicking on pictures hosted by auctiva seems to create the same problem for some as well.
Auctiva seem to be claiming various things according to people. Either thye had a virus and isolated it or there is no virus and it is to do with the newest update of their software.

Personally I would just avoid it all together until it becomes clear what has happened.

alex4orne
23rd February 2009, 11:25
Thanks for that, I thought it was just me, had same message when I went to someone's listing on ebay. I thought it was because I was using google chrome.

batespcm
23rd February 2009, 11:27
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/7905518.stm

BBC news story about a Trojan