PDA

View Full Version : website trouble


free0870numbers.co.uk
16th February 2005, 15:55
Hi

I have heard of ripping off websites before but this is taking it too far.

A few months ago we had a customer with a reseller package the customers site was called keephosting.co.uk.

Any way this particular customer canceled his account and went on his way. We didn't think any more of it. I was curious to see what was happening with his site to find www.keephosting.co.uk had a site the same in every way except the tacky header that had replaced ours.

Our site http://www.circlehosting.net
Ripper www.keephosting.co.uk

I wouldn't be as bothered but it even has the same packages as us with the circle replaced with keep.

What can I do to stop them.....?

gary
16th February 2005, 16:06
The sites look totally identical to me - both have Circle Hosting, or am I missing something?

free0870numbers.co.uk
16th February 2005, 16:30
www.keeptalking.co.uk and keephosting.co.uk

Ozzy
17th February 2005, 09:07
So long as your website is not based on any publicably accessable templates, then there is a possability of passing off or namely copyright infringement.
Passing off will be a tough one to prove if you have no evidence from customers who confused them for you, but copyright theft is as clear as day.

Have a word with a solicitor first, but do not contact them until you have done so else it coudl jepordise your case if you do.

pbresser
17th February 2005, 09:53
Just compare the source files and apart from the cookie at the top and the fact your graphic at the bottom has a link, the sites are virtually identical.

IANAL but it's a straight rip-off (even the CSS font style .class tags have the same name) and you should get a legal eagle to write you a 'cease and decist' letter to get these plagerists to take the site down.

Bl**dy cheek, eh?

free0870numbers.co.uk
17th February 2005, 12:00
Nope our site although may look a bit like a template was designed by a designer friend of ours.

Ozzy
17th February 2005, 14:31
Then get a solicitors letter on route to them :)

free0870numbers.co.uk
17th February 2005, 14:48
Lets hope it doesnt get to that.. We are contacting the relevant people first.

free0870numbers.co.uk
17th February 2005, 19:41
Victory.... the sites have been taken down.

Thanks everyone