PDA

View Full Version : The great Dell Finance con


Alpha
4th February 2005, 09:46
Ordered a new PC from dell via the internet.

As they were currently offering 0% finance I thought I might as well apply and filled in the forms.

2 days later took a call from an indian call centre which asked me various questions mainly around how long I had lived here, how long the business had been going etc. (after several times asking them to repeat the question because I couldnt make out what they were asking)

Day after that I got the finance agreemnent e mailed through to me.
According to the terms they were charging me interest and a 'documentation fee' of £50!! (not bad as the PC only cost £350) and a second document also asked for a personal guarantee

When I called to query the fact that I had applied for 0% they said that I had not qualified for that (But obviously they were not going to tell me about it)

So I pointed out that they seemed perfectly willing to charge me interest and ask for a personal guarantee but I didnt qualify for 0%!!!

what was the logic?

She refused to go into why and simply asked if I wished to continue with the order.

i TOLD HER TO STICK IT

:evil:

StartUp
4th February 2005, 13:58
Don't blame you. We ordered a Dell PC last year and I had to deal with the Indian call centre, drove me round the bend!!!

JUlia

Ozzy
4th February 2005, 14:11
Oooo, and there I was about to order a new laptop from them this week !

Thais
4th February 2005, 15:48
i TOLD HER TO STICK IT
:evil:

WELL DONE!!! I hope you used the appropriate language!! Bloody racketeers. :evil: My son has always told me NEVER EVER to buy from Dell - now I know why!

Paul Shepherd
8th February 2005, 17:53
I too bought a Dell Computer. The equipmenmt is absolutlely fine but the run around at the India call centre was enough to make me slam the phone down when I wanted to order another one. Go to Stalpes instead.

Kim

ewebhosting.org
9th February 2005, 09:14
Why pay over the odds for expensive computer equipment when you can just build your own!!

I do.....!!

Good on ya though, but usually when an offer seems too good to be true it usually is!

adam
10th February 2005, 20:23
ewebhosting, if you build you own, do you want to help me with www.easytobuildyourown.com?

Need a partner. Also PM'd you about another project