PDA

View Full Version : Website Been Copied - Help!


MarkPearson
9th July 2008, 22:14
I have found a website that is more or less identical to my website www.myvouchercodes.co.uk

I am looking for some legal advice and someone who would like to represent me in this case.

Can anyone here please recommend someone or a good solicitors to use?

Thanks

Mark

(sorry have not named and shamed publically, did not think that was the best option)

PI Guy
9th July 2008, 22:18
I can recommend http://www.dmlaw.co.uk/m_17.asp

Carl-CSNM
9th July 2008, 23:10
Have you contacted the owner of the domain / their hosts to ask them to remove the offending content? That should be your first course of action if you haven't done so already.

LASS
9th July 2008, 23:36
whats the website in question?

MarkPearson
10th July 2008, 00:52
Dont want to out them publically, so will not list their url here

Carl-CSNM - I have not contacted them, I feel a stern letter or a cease and desist order may have a better effect - so solicitors this way please...

The site in question have totally ripped off my site, layout and content and several unique features we have as well as registered a very simular domain name, so I do feel its worth legal action, to protect my brand. I don't want to give them time to make changes, I want the site and url taken offline as they are passinng off as me.

ohhh... I feel like I nearly got into a rant then! :-)

An Oasis
10th July 2008, 01:05
Set Andy onto them Mark that should be enough don't forget the old adage "A Yeti a day keeps the ******* at bay."

If you need a quick 101 on what you could do here are our tips, we have loads of dickheads that have blatantly copied both imagery and text...

http://www.realoasis.net/?p=585

Exec-U-Travel
10th July 2008, 01:30
What a scoundrel, but seems you've nipped it in the bud & some good advice back from folk. Especially like the nuts approach as favoured by Oasis.

What does the Yeti man do then, I thought it was just PR? Does he have an Alastair Campbell side as well then? Crikey. If so, now we're talking business, I want some of that action.

I'd keep him busy in my field alone, save me keep blogging about all the cheaters out there. Got me thinking now, I really fancy a campaign against all the rogues out there - may get a few other companies together and join forces - "Regulators! Mount Up!"

Seriously though, I can't believe people can be so blatant to do such a lowly trick, and try and get away with it? How naive can folk be? Did they really think they'd get away with it?

Like Bob Hoskins said in the Long Good Friday, meathooks scene - "THERE'S GONNA BE AN ERUPTION".......

MarkPearson
10th July 2008, 01:32
Thanks some good advice there in your link.

I am going to get a solicitor to send a cease and desist order, anyone know of a good one? maybe one on the forums?

An Oasis
10th July 2008, 02:25
...Especially like the nuts approach as favoured by Oasis......
Glad you like my nuts! ;)

Seriously though, I can't believe people can be so blatant to do such a lowly trick, and try and get away with it? How naive can folk be? Did they really think they'd get away with it?

The worst bit it yes they can get away with it and benefit, unless you ...hit them in the (fill in the blanks) **** OK folks all chant now.

OldWelshGuy
10th July 2008, 08:04
Here is a post I made on my blog, it explains in detail stuff like the Digital Milennium Copyright Act etc. It also explains how to get the site taken down without the owners concent if you can prove your case. DMCA will reomve a site from the searche ngines etc.

Read that first, then you can explain it to your lawyer :D

http://www.oldwelshguy.co.uk/web-marketing/beating-the-content-thieves-stolen-website-content

openmind
10th July 2008, 10:21
Your first step Mark is to contact the host immediately under the DMCA providing full details such as screenshots, what has been copied etc

The host would then normally suspend the site immediately whilst the claim is investigated. That's really the quickest way to get the ball rolling.

PM me the site and I'll track down the host for you if you wish...

downsouth
10th July 2008, 12:09
wot is it exactly that they have copied??

exact same layout, same wording, exact same images.

quickly looking about the net shows some sites with similar layouts, but ur all in the same business so no prob form me, originality does pay a part in a business but are they passing themselves off as ur site? tricking the users into thinking their using ur site??

remember in this day n age, lots of sites tend to use the same templates, especially if not using a bespoke web designer

there was a recent post bout this issue somewhere on here

MarkPearson
10th July 2008, 14:16
yes, the site in question has totally replcated our design system, layout, url is same with addition of 2 letters, similar images and unique feaures that are only available on our website.