PDA

View Full Version : Can you help me with this, advice please.


Micheal123
11th March 2006, 14:48
Is this web site too good to be true? I have come across this web site and it looks too good to be true to me but at the same time there seems to be lots of people using it. It’s advertised as an auction site and at the same time like a private members club. There is a £2.50 membership fee (which has so far put me off) and I’m trying to work out the con but there isn’t one or doesn’t seem to be one. I would be interested in anyone’s comments about this. Oh the web site is: www.auctions-united.com and the bit that makes it sound too good to be true is that they say they give you £25 when you join and £25 for referrals and that you can spend this money (they call it CyberCash) on items like ipod’s and laptops etc. I’ve looked and there are some for sale and the sellers say they accept this CyberCash. I’m looking at what I’m writing thinking “why don’t you just join your talking yourself into it” but at the same time it sounds too good to be true and I’ve heard that message boards like this are great for finding out if something is a scam or not. I wonder if there is a list somewhere of other too good to be true web sites……lol

clairemackaness
11th March 2006, 15:12
I've looked at the about page and I dont think it's a scam, just someone who has issues with eBay and Paypal. They can dream but they will never beat eBay at their game.

Ian J
11th March 2006, 15:30
Hello Micheal, you get around a bit :lol:

I will answer the same as on the last forum that you posted on :-

It seems to be an auction site but with very little for sale. According to the "About Us" section it is run by a bankrupt and there may therefore be doubts about it's legality.

Keep away is my advice.