PDA

View Full Version : any good marketing short courses / seminars available in UK


whirly
23rd January 2006, 23:02
any good marketing short courses / seminars available in UK

got to be reasonable ££

Ady
23rd January 2006, 23:14
hello....i dont actually know, but i'd be interested if there are any that anybody knows of :)

Pebble Communications
24th January 2006, 03:41
Look at your local business link. Mine has some very expensive one-day courses run by a commercial company but it also organises a lot of half day sessions itself which start at about £15. A lot of these are on marketing topics and I've been to a couple and found them very interesting.

Fiona Bailey
Pebble Communications

annethedonn
24th January 2006, 06:10
Try this free seminar, if you're quick you'll get it today: http://www.hypertracker.com/go/cardellmedia2/TeleSeminar/

Ady
24th January 2006, 06:50
well....i tried that link annethedonn but....my security dont like it, it brings up -

h2kclan.com[BEAST Trojan]:212.84.175.71-212.84.175.71

maybe someone with someone will put me right here but to me thats not good, spyware/tracking/trojan, wotever...it dont look good to me.

i try to keep my security tight, maybe its just a faulse alarm, but im not risking it.

the security program that picked it up is named "peerguardian" download it here....its free!

http://phoenixlabs.org/pg2/

i also use Panda Platinum (and some other proggies!).....worth every penny ;)

feedback here would be good to see if anybody else comes up with that baddie....but be carefull!

annethedonn
24th January 2006, 06:54
How strange, perhaps it's a personal link just for me! Try this one: http://www.cardellmedia.co.uk/UltimateMarketing2006.html

Or just try www.cardellmedia.co.uk

Chris is very good and often gives you free help and advice/courses etc.... You can subscribe to his newsletter which is really useful.

Ady
24th January 2006, 06:57
nope....both them links show same "h2kclan.com[BEAST Trojan] :(

maybe site needs scanning....or even host pc....i duno, wish i did

confused
24th January 2006, 07:01
links work fine here

annethedonn
24th January 2006, 07:04
No idea what that means.... !!

whirly
24th January 2006, 07:05
i've seen chris cardells website before, i think i'll give it a go.

i tried registering for his normal newspage/updates via email a while ago but the subscription box didn't work.

Ady
24th January 2006, 07:05
i didnt say the links didnt work 'confused'....what i said was that it kicks off my security and so blocks that site....and to view it i would have to allow "h2kclan.com" as a connection and im not prepared to do that.

maybe your security dont care...lol


any experts in the house?!!

confused
24th January 2006, 07:24
By "workded" I meant they worked without any problems such as trying to connect to any dubious sites. I had a quick looky and it seems live broadcasts come from there but noting on at the moment, not sure whether this is the cause of your warning message. Seems a little paranoid to me. What security are you using out of interest?

Ady
24th January 2006, 07:31
it was peerguardian2 that picked it up, a great little proggie that blocks "known ip's/sites" risks


although you cant see it dont mean it aint happening, things are fast when connecting to www's and although you get to the site you intended, dont mean you got directly there....need an expert on this one.

wot security do you run? maybe its yours that needs looking at...and yes paranoid is my word of the day, but thats howcome my pc has been online 24/7 for the last 2yr....and never a hitch ;)

annethedonn
24th January 2006, 07:32
Oh God, look what I've started!!!!

Ady
24th January 2006, 07:38
yeh...its all your fault!!!!


Ady runs&hides!

Ady
24th January 2006, 07:40
just made new post here http://www.ukbusinessforums.co.uk/viewtopic.php?p=62997#62997

wot do ya think?

whirly
24th January 2006, 08:07
have you got the subscription working annethedon ?

whirly
24th January 2006, 08:12
i can't sign up to the chris cardell newsletter is what i'm trying to say.

annethedonn
24th January 2006, 08:24
you can sign up via his website www.cardellmedia.co.uk

He's nothing to do with me lol!!!

confused
24th January 2006, 08:46
ok out of interest, I just visited h2kclan.com using both FF and IE then did a complete AV scan and also a spyware scan - zilch

Ady
24th January 2006, 08:53
i said maybe an expert could help here...im not!

but out of interest...what did you use to scan your pc, and also what are you using to control your inward/outward connections/ports while connecting to the site which was mentioned earlier??

Ady
24th January 2006, 09:04
any good marketing short courses / seminars available in UK

got to be reasonable ££


back to this?!! :P

Greg
24th January 2006, 09:10
Press Dispensary offers a PR copywriting course - details at http://www.pressdispensary.co.uk/PR_training_courses.php

The course aimed at anyone in business who needs to sharpen writing skills for press releases and public announcements. It is also highly suitable for PR and marketing account executives, managers, junior copywriters and trainees.

The next course will be held at the University of Sussex, Brighton, on Thursday 23rd Feb, 1pm- 5pm

confused
24th January 2006, 09:15
i said maybe an expert could help here...im not


For this simple test I scanned with ms anti spyware and adaware. I am now at a diferent location from ealier, at this site I am using ISA server 2004 to provide a level of security, at home at the moment due to my poor Proxim Orinoco getting broken Im on a cheapo cable router relying on ZA for some security.
Not sure exaclty what you mean by "control your inward/outward connections/ports" do you mean do I filter any inbound/outbound tcp connections? I suspect you do, and I dont - if that makes sense

Ady
24th January 2006, 09:32
yes that makes sense

....and the answer to that is yes i do filter all inward/outbound tcp and udp

now...back on topic i think, sorry for making it drift but it takes 2 :P

PM me if you wana chat more on that subject, or go to the post in the IT & Internet, thnx

daveashton
24th January 2006, 11:41
Hi

Yes

How many people, location and what topic?

whirly
25th January 2006, 15:14
Just listened to the chris cardel seminar, it's very interesting!

annethedonn
25th January 2006, 15:35
Yes, he's very inspiring Whirly!

whirly
25th January 2006, 15:40
I did psychology degree so i know where he's coming from. I first thought it was a bit scam, but i've heard very good reviews from various unrelated people. Has he appeared in the times newspaper ?

annethedonn
25th January 2006, 15:58
I couldn't tell you to be honest. I subscribed to his newsletter and he sends something every day!

I don't even remember where I heard about him. Sorry can't be of any more help