PDA

View Full Version : Google Trying to take me for a fool lol


MASSEY
26th March 2010, 16:45
I was contacted by email about a ppc campaign i have running by Nicola Day at google, in the emails she asked me would i be interested in FREE
help about how to maximise adwords, i emailed back saying contact me friday between 5-6.

I recieved a call from a girl called laura at logi-tech straight away i realised google had passed my info to a third party.

15 minutes of sales pitch off laura basically offering me top spots on ppc, which i currently am anyway.......

Also she was offering me ppc campaigns on kitchens and bathrooms, where they would put up a one page site, i told her one page site would not convert when people are spending 5k on there property.

She complimented me on my knowledge and wished me luck.

So really the original email from google should have been,

"Do you want us to pass your information on to sub standard so called ppc campaign specialists who also offer one page web sites and call logging for well over how much all that should really cost"

I dunno :rolleyes:

zigojacko
26th March 2010, 16:54
Are you absolutely sure it was Google?

Companies pose as Google all the time, if it was a representative at Google Adwords, their email would have been 'name@google.com'

MASSEY
26th March 2010, 17:09
Are you absolutely sure it was Google?

Companies pose as Google all the time, if it was a representative at Google Adwords, their email would have been 'name@google.com'

Yes it was

nday@google.com

She just passed my info on to laura at logi-tech, i didnt think google worked that way. But i suppose at the end of the day they are a business.

OldWelshGuy
26th March 2010, 22:30
Logi tech are the only google appraoved company, and I shall say no more.

Google have tied in with them on a deal of some kind.

I ain't saying anything on an open forum, but safe to say that most of the stories I have heard have been along the lines of this one, as in not painting them in a good light.

directmarketingadvice
27th March 2010, 10:05
I recieved a call from a girl called laura at logi-tech

Are you sure about the name? Logitech is a company that make PC stuff (e.g. mice).

Also she was offering me ppc campaigns on kitchens and bathrooms, where they would put up a one page site, i told her one page site would not convert when people are spending 5k on there property.

It's strange advice as Adwords tends to give lower quality scores to one-page websites.

Steve

holikacom
27th March 2010, 11:22
hi you can use other network because google is too big and they dont care. use small advertising network who listion your problem.
kind regards

MASSEY
27th March 2010, 17:14
Are you sure about the name? Logitech is a company that make PC stuff (e.g. mice).



It's strange advice as Adwords tends to give lower quality scores to one-page websites.

Steve

Yes im quite sure that is what she said to me, maybe they spell it in a weird way, top and tail of it is it was not a very good offer :rolleyes:

MASSEY
27th March 2010, 17:15
hi you can use other network because google is too big and they dont care. use small advertising network who listion your problem.
kind regards

Yes that is good advice.

OldWelshGuy
27th March 2010, 21:26
Are you sure about the name? Logitech is a company that make PC stuff (e.g. mice).



It's strange advice as Adwords tends to give lower quality scores to one-page websites.

Steve


I think you might be right about the name Steve, I took it as read. The company is something very similar, and when queried Google confirmed they are a delivery partner in the UK. (they are poor though). I am now going to have to dig out the email to confirm the name of the company. It is XXX tech I think :(

thebookiesoffers
27th March 2010, 22:43
i remember when i first started my site and didnt even know seo etc exsisted nevermind understood the basics, i posted something on the G webmaster forum. I later got a call from someone claiming to be from google. All seemed ok till i asked if it was possible to pay to come top of a certain search result, i quite quickly realised this person wasnt from google:D

webmojo
29th March 2010, 21:09
Found this link so you may not have this problem any longer
http://searchengineland.com/sources-google-terminating-adwords-reseller-program-for-now-38955

UKSBD
29th March 2010, 21:31
Looks like the authorised resellers page has already gone.

Cache still there at the moment

http://66.102.9.132/search?sourceid=navclient&hl=en-GB&ie=UTF-8&rlz=1T4GGIC_en-GBGB266GB266&q=cache:http%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2Fintl%2Fen%2F adwords%2Freseller%2Fdirectory.html