PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE ADVISE, IS THIS A SCAM


millcrom
20th January 2006, 06:05
FIRST OF ALL, SORRY ABOUT THE LENGTH OF THIS POST, THIS IS WHAT I RECIEVED AFTER ENQUIRING ABOUT A DATA ENTRY POSITION.


Hi,

A Data Entry Clerk/Home Typist position requires that you have a reliable computer with constant Internet access and capabilities, a valid E-mail account, basic Internet knowledge, and minimal typing skills. You must also be able to conduct yourself in a professional manner. This includes having excellent grammar and spelling when communicating with clients via E-mail. In addition to the above requirements, you MUST be able to follow instructions closely and completely! You will do all contact via E-mail, so you will not be required to call anyone at anytime. This allows you to work whichever hours are most convenient for you (days, night, or weekends). You will be processing applications, as well as filling out forms in specific company databases (this tends to be tedious at times, so please be sure that you have the patience to do so before proceeding). This is why you will need to have basic Internet knowledge, though the training provided will give you step-by-step instructions on how to perform these tasks properly. There are no "down-times" with this position, so you will have a constant flow of work to complete. THIS IS NOT A GET RICH QUICK SCHEME, so if that is what you are looking for please do not pursue this opportunity. You will be paid £20 for each application completed. The amount of money you make each week is entirely up to you, and how much time and effort you are willing to put forth with this position. The average person makes £300-£500 each week.

When you have been accepted as a Data Entry Clerk/Home Typist, you are considered an Independent Contractor. This means that your taxes will not be taken out; therefore, you will not be provided with any tax forms. THIS IS ENTIRELY YOUR RESPONSIBILITY. The training provided will go more in depth about what to do with your taxes. You will receive your pay through Paypal or whichever online payment portal you choose. When an application is completed, £20 will be credited to your Paypal account, which can be withdrawn into your bank account at your leisure. You can read about the security policies at http:// www.paypal.com.

There is a one-time non-refundable fee for the training package. This also includes all processing fees and training costs. We offer professional online support for as long as you may need us. This is a one-time fee, and there will be no other charges to you. However, the fee must be received before you can gain access to the "Training Area" on our website. We must accept this fee to cover training costs, processing fees, as well as to ensure that only serious applicants apply. This is a non-refundable fee, so be sure that you understand what you are doing before sending in your payment for the training materials. This fee will not be waived for anyone, and cannot be deducted from your first pay. This is because if you do not process applications, you will not have a first pay, and we will have already taken the time to set you up, and train you.

Once your payment is received, you will your training materials. You will need a word processing program in order to perform this position successfully (MS Word, Works, Notepad, etc.) Once you have read the training materials you will be able to START working from home TODAY. Most applicants typically complete the training within 24 hours or less. However, you can do this at your leisure. Keep in mind that the sooner you go through the training materials, the sooner you will START earning money. I will be able to be contacted via E-mail at anytime after you have received your training materials to help you, or answer any questions you may have. If you are serious about this position, meet all the requirements, and are responsible enough to work from home, then please contact me via E-mail and I will inform you of the cost of the training packet, and how to set up a Paypal account to send the fee (if you do not already have an account). You seem like an excellent candidate for this position, and I hope that I hear from you again so I can get you STARTED right away! Please visit our website as well to get a better feel for the data entry/home typist work, and to answer any questions that I may have not covered in this E-mail


Sincerely,

Sharron

EMAIL: purplesdg@yahoo.co.uk
WEBSITE: www.freewebs.com/colourofmoney

bwglaw
20th January 2006, 06:11
Almost fell asleep when I should be waking up! ;)

If there is not a genuine postal address on their site then it is likely to be a scam. I would make careful enquiries before parting with your money.

millcrom
20th January 2006, 06:31
Thank you very much, i know its a little bit too early for that kind of post, sorry!!

creospace
20th January 2006, 06:32
You can get more info about scams from the forum at www.homeworking.com

Gary

bwglaw
20th January 2006, 06:32
No problems - if you want me to have a closer look just PM me the website and I will do some checks.

Robert
20th January 2006, 07:47
Avoid anything that requires you to send them money before you start. 99% likelyhood of being a scam

bitsnstuff
20th January 2006, 07:55
It is too early to read a post like that without coffee in the system, but the two sentences which stuck out, particularly as they are in capital (!) are:-

THIS IS NOT A GET RICH QUICK SCHEME

and

THIS IS ENTIRELY YOUR RESPONSIBILITY

This, to my mind alone is enough reason not to take it seriously!!

Kate :lol:

Rob
20th January 2006, 08:03
Almost certainly a scam. Typical request to send money for a 'training manual'. What legit business would ask employees to buy their training!

Other warning signs include:

1) Use of a yahoo address
2) Use of what appears to be a generic website address

Waste of time.

Concerning scams generally I came across a site run by a guy whose sole purpose in life is to 'scam the scammers'. He repsonses to the mails and strings them along for months. On the site he includes copies of the emails going back and for. Hilarious reading. Can't remember full url but do search on 'ebola monkey scams' and it will come up. Worth half an hour of your time.

Rob Holmes
20th January 2006, 08:06
Concerning scams generally I came across a site run by a guy whose sole purpose in life is to 'scam the scammers'. He repsonses to the mails and strings them along for months. On the site he includes copies of the emails going back and for. Hilarious reading. Can't remember full url but do search on 'ebola monkey scams' and it will come up. Worth half an hour of your time.

Maybe http://www.419eater.com/ ?

Rob

millcrom
20th January 2006, 08:17
Thank you for all your replies,

I have decided to leave well alone, thats exactly what i though about the training fee, why should you have to pay to be able to earn money, especially for training.

Thanks guys & gals

Sarah

Pebble Communications
20th January 2006, 10:35
They clearly make their money by taking the training fees.

Then there is no actual work provided for you.