View Full Version : How can they do it so cheap??(webhosting)
YMW
17th January 2006, 09:12
http://www.ukwebhosting.co.uk/
No I am not associated with them, I was recommended them on another forum but am always suspicious when it seems so cheap!
Can anyone comment -is there a catch?
Rob Holmes
17th January 2006, 09:24
I'm not sure should comment as they are a direct competitor but theres no telephone number (what happens if their email and yours stops working) - Never use a host (for a website you value) that you can't telephone.
They host their own site with another host (so may just have a reseller account) - so actually their email won't go down if yours did - but why not just put their email on a different server of their own - maybe they only have 1 server?
On the upside they don't offer unlimited hosting - so maybe with no telephone support they can justify a low price - but I personally think £10 per year is too low. How much support time can they afford to allocate to you for 83p a month?
Rob
bwglaw
17th January 2006, 09:32
I'm not sure should comment as they are a direct competitor but theres no telephone number (what happens if their email and yours stops working) - Never use a host (for a website you value) that you can't telephone.
They host their own site with another host (so may just have a reseller account) - so actually their email won't go down if yours did - but why not just put their email on a different server of their own - maybe they only have 1 server?
On the upside they don't offer unlimited hosting - so maybe with no telephone support they can justify a low price - but I personally think £10 per year is too low. How much support time can they afford to allocate to you for 83p a month?
Rob
I have looked at their contact page. I think it is the same address as you Rob, I recall seeing a St John's Street address in your signature which is displayed on your site at http://www.matrixxhosting.com/ - address at the footer
There is a support number on the above page at http://www.ukwebhosting.co.uk/about/contact.html - cheaper to call an 0870 than an 0871!
Rob Holmes
17th January 2006, 09:35
ooo sorry I missed that they had a phone number - it does say leave a message they'll get back to you implying it's just an answerphone. One contact page has it on, one doesn't!
Yes our postal addie is 145-157 St John Street London EC1V 4PY too :)
I use an 0871 too although I do offer a local number as well (See my sig)
Rob
bwglaw
17th January 2006, 09:41
All web hosting companies in one building....lovely ;)
Anyway, I agree with you Rob, it is too cheap and for this low price they are not likely to put performance as a priority and will allow for thousands of sites to be hosted on one server. The FTP may be restricted to a limited number per day?
Didn't see your number in the sig Rob, sorry ;)
Rob Holmes
17th January 2006, 09:46
All web hosting companies in one building....lovely ;)
Actually it's just a postal forwarding address - I can and have met people there as theres meeting rooms, hot desks etc but it's 45mins by train from here and I'd rather not commute everyday :)
We were considering dropping the postal forwarding and having my normal address - maybe I'll start a thread with a poll...
Rob
JustOneUK
17th January 2006, 11:08
No I am not associated with them, I was recommended them on another forum but am always suspicious when it seems so cheap!
Can anyone comment -is there a catch?
that is a small disc space, and small bandwith.. perhaps it is cheap as it is targeted at site owners that won't have any visitors 8)
emmab10
17th January 2006, 11:08
Hi,
I actually run my little Wedding Make Up site on their servers and so far so good. I agree that the price initally put me off, but I went for their Home Package and have been pleased so far.
Never had to phone them on the number quoted in this post, but have used email support and never had any problems really.
Emma
Rob Holmes
17th January 2006, 11:25
Hi,
I actually run my little Wedding Make Up site on their servers and so far so good. I agree that the price initally put me off, but I went for their Home Package and have been pleased so far.
Never had to phone them on the number quoted in this post, but have used email support and never had any problems really.
Emma
Hi Emma,
Interesting you set up your account from ukwebcp.co.uk
Which is the same contact details as the ukwebhosting
Cheap trick!! http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=ukwebcp.co.uk
You just lost all credibility.
Rob
emmab10
17th January 2006, 11:28
Hi Rob,
UKWEBCP.co.uk is my webmail server that i think all UKWEB customers either use or come via...
Sorry if you think its a cheap trick!
Emma
Coding Monkey
17th January 2006, 11:39
So, you sign-up earlier today and by sheer coincidence, came into this thread which had no mention of your host in the title, and decided to tell us about how good they are a few hours later? No introduction, no hello, just wanted to give us some info. You're the sort of customer I want!
Mind if we take a look at your website?
Rob Holmes
17th January 2006, 12:04
Hi Rob,
UKWEBCP.co.uk is my webmail server that i think all UKWEB customers either use or come via...
Sorry if you think its a cheap trick!
Emma
er I think we both know better than that.
<thread locked>
Rob