PDA

View Full Version : Our New Company and Website- GreenCube...


ajonline
12th January 2006, 21:40
Over the last 2-3 weeks, me and step brother have started up our new business. GreenCube Printing. We offer printing products too suit all your needs.

Take a look at our site: www.green-cube.com and let us know what you think

Thanks Alot

Adam

fastfences
12th January 2006, 22:51
Take a look at our site: www.green-cube.com and let us know what you think
Adam

Hi Adam,
Congratulations on getting a business together.

I'm a touch puzzled that the name of the business is 'Green Cube' yet the logo is a green square. I think a cubed logo would be far better, and consistent with the theme. And what's happening here:
GreenCube Printing's Latest Promotion is None at the moment sorry
Just put something in to make it look real! :wink:

all the best with your venture, Cheers, Nigel

bwglaw
13th January 2006, 02:53
Good start...suggest that the logo is hyperlinked to your home page because it is the first thing a user will try. Well...I tried it...and then realised I had to click the link below which is not so obvious ;)

ink4-u
13th January 2006, 06:08
Good start...suggest that the logo is hyperlinked to your home page because it is the first thing a user will try. Well...I tried it...and then realised I had to click the link below which is not so obvious ;)

same :D

Rob Holmes
13th January 2006, 06:22
Interesting..

I thought the wording looked familiar..

Your copy on some of your website matches that of MKPrinting and some of whitespark promotions sites :roll:

Have a look at the about us page (MKPrinting) here (http://www.copyscape.com/view.php?o=64913&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mkprinting.co.uk%2Fabout-us.cfm&t=1137136843&s=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.green-cube.com%2Fabout.htm&w=121&c=)

The FAQ's (Whitespark) here (http://www.copyscape.com/view.php?o=65029&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.whitesparks.co.uk%2Fhow-it-works.cfm%2Fc%2F12%2FfaqID%2F15%2FDesign%2FWhat_De sign_Formats_can_i_use%2F&t=1137137125&s=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.green-cube.com%2Ffaq.htm&w=72&c=)

I have to say it's strange - the sites above have the same website developers, maybe they did your site too? It's perfectly feasible you to have had permission to use the content or the developers just have a standard format but it's always best to keep your content original if you can. It may not be possible because sometimes people buy-in standard Terms and conditions etc but the general faq's and about us stuff etc are a bit different...

Rob

bwglaw
13th January 2006, 07:21
So effectively, it could be a mere mirror site, which I think is bad for business if it is not original as well as the actual provider/supplier being possibly too high up in the service/supply chain.

Would not recommend buying in standard terms and conditions because they do not always apply to the business you operate. I have just completed a set for a client which has been written for his business and added specific clauses to tighten it up

Richard Conyard
13th January 2006, 07:43
Ummm, just a boring thing. You're advertising your site as being as 508 valid and xHTML 1.0. It's neither, looking I could set various problems with 508 and looking at the top of the page the site has a HTML 4 definition.

creospace
13th January 2006, 07:45
Is that the developer or them though ?

creacom
13th January 2006, 08:44
I think that like MK Printing they are probably a reseller of Whitesparks.

Jacqui':D'

Rob Holmes
13th January 2006, 13:52
Well a mirror site isn't great for the search engines.

Maybe MK printing can shed some light?

Rob

Real World Hypnotherapy
13th January 2006, 16:32
Adam is working with MK Printing and he will be offering the products to his local market, he will not be a competitor of ours or trading on here.

Adam will be advertising in his local areas and taking orders through his site. and using us, and probably others, to supply the products to his own sourced customers.

I noticed that the text is the same but this will be changed shortly as I have e-mailed them.

I just want to make it clear that MK Printing works with Whitesparks however we are two different companies. We offer different services than white sparks and we operate in a totally different way. Soon the websites will not even be similar.

If you want top quality printing with great customer service come to me, nuff said!

Matt, MK Printing

Jayne
13th January 2006, 17:01
Good luck with your new business Adam :D

I like Nigel's cube idea too:D

Jayne

creacom
13th January 2006, 17:24
Well to be honest Matt, I dont see how you operate in a completely different way to Whitesparks Promotions because you resell their products !

I run a graphic and webdesign agency and yes one of our sidelines is print. So we resell digital and litho print. But that I am upfront about because we dont have printing equipment in our office as I am sure you dont either.

Im not getting at you here Matt because I am sure you have helped a lot of people and run a good business.

Jacqui ':D'

MorethanWords
13th January 2006, 22:16
I like the fact that the links page just says 'bleh' but that is probably because I've had a glass or two of chardonnay and silly things are making me laugh!

On a more serious note (Ahem) I agree that it should say somewhere that you are a reseller of Whitesparks promotions - is it not slight misrepresentation?

Anyway good luck with the venture chaps. See you around.

Rob Holmes
14th January 2006, 05:16
On a more serious note (Ahem) I agree that it should say somewhere that you are a reseller of Whitesparks promotions - is it not slight misrepresentation?

I'm not so sure. Businesses shouldn't have to disclose where they source their stuff. But I really don't agree in pretending that they have printing presses etc when they are just resellers.

None of the domains mentioned above have even been registered a year yet.

Rob

bwglaw
14th January 2006, 05:43
No business is obliged to disclose their suppliers or the way they operate the business and I do not think MK Printing should be questioned in this aspect.

What they have said on their site is not sufficient for misrepresentation as such because I have come across an associate of mine that says on his site he has offices in 3 locations, when in fact they are offices of his suppliers and he works from home! I have not looked at any of the sites thoroughly to ascertain any misrepresentation.

My previous advice was constructive in the views of a ordinary customer where they may view the site differently if it appears to be a reseller of a reseller. There are already too many sites selling printing, ink etc. It is not good business practice to create a complex relationship and expanding the service/supply chain. This is how disputes easily arise (through lack of effective communication) and it has an adverse effect on the business dealing with the client. All businesses should evaluate any risks and dependencies, those who don't often go under because they were reliant on one supplier/source of income etc.

For this reason, Hands On Group only deals directly with the supplier/service provider and we have formed fantastic relationships as a result. Now working on taking them over! ;)

directmarketingadvice
14th January 2006, 08:21
There are already too many sites selling printing, ink etc.

I'm curious, what is the right number of sites? :wink:

I'd agree that there does seem to be a lot of those sites that don't appear to be offering anything new or different.

And a lot of these sites seem to be more about using SEO and PPC more effectively than their competitors than developing a genuine, client-serving, USP.

But that doesn't mean there isn't room for another printing site that's offering something different to its customers.

Steve

creacom
14th January 2006, 09:44
If there is honesty from the start then I dont see why anyone should be in the situation where they have to justify themselves or their products or activity.

If they do find themselves having to do it then obviously there is a doubt or misunderstanding regarding the message they are trying to convey.

I dont think that there is anything wrong with MK Printing being a reseller at all. Good luck to him.

The only point is that he should not try to make out otherwise.

Jacqui ':D'

FormFour
14th January 2006, 12:59
first im going to say I really don't know much on business jargon and all that so if i now say something that is really stupid, forgive me lol

ok if you are a reseller surely stating this and your suplier or whatever would mean your killing your own business?
surely the customer would then go to the original source where the cost must be lower?
like saying we offer this but go here to get it cheaper?

im probably wrong but anywho lol :)

creacom
14th January 2006, 13:06
No I see what you mean.

But I know a number of resellers a few of them are on this forum where you can actually get cheaper prices than if you were to go direct to the source. The more business that reseller puts to the source the cheaper they can buy the items.

Jacqui

FormFour
14th January 2006, 13:29
ah i see now :)