View Full Version : I may be in some trouble here
e-web solutions
3rd October 2005, 14:54
I booked my practical driving test on this website:
www.drivingcourses.co.uk
and i gave my bank details and personal details so they could take out the payment for my lessons and test.
they stated that they will contact me within 48 hours in writing. it has now been a week and nothing has happened. also i noticed that the website does not have a ssl cerificate.
I need some details of how to get hold of them apart from the email addresses as i have tried them but to no avail. what should i do and is there anyway of getting hold of the people who own this website.
cheers
BMS
3rd October 2005, 15:06
Oh Dear..........
I have looked at the website and I could not see any contact details apart from an email address.
Have they taken the payment yet ?
e-web solutions
3rd October 2005, 15:17
No payment has been taken and none are pending.
Ive cancelled my bank card so i should be safe from that now shouldnt i.
it didnt say my payment was accepted it just thanked me for my details.
I was looking through the source code and looking at the notes and it looks like it was a test site for someone but got through the search rankings due to its content.
bwglaw
3rd October 2005, 15:28
I booked my practical driving test on this website:
www.drivingcourses.co.uk
and i gave my bank details and personal details so they could take out the payment for my lessons and test.
they stated that they will contact me within 48 hours in writing. it has now been a week and nothing has happened. also i noticed that the website does not have a ssl cerificate.
I need some details of how to get hold of them apart from the email addresses as i have tried them but to no avail. what should i do and is there anyway of getting hold of the people who own this website.
cheers
Go to:
http://195.66.240.211/cgi-bin/whois.cgi?query=drivingcourses.co.uk&x=15&y=3
No address is given but if you contact Nominet UK and explain your situation they may release the details. If they have taken payment but have not delivered then you should contact Nominet UK and the Police of this fraudulent website. In any event you should contact your bank to block the transaction.
I have experience of working with Nominet UK where a website was illegally trading and they caused problems for my client. The website was disabled almost immediately. Nominet UK have the power to disable a domain name of any illegal activity.
e-web solutions
3rd October 2005, 15:30
thanks a lot,
thats great that.
DuaneJackson
3rd October 2005, 16:35
The address is there, it's also at https://www.keyone.co.uk/tools-whois.asp?q=drivingcourses.co.uk
e-web solutions
3rd October 2005, 16:37
Thanks a lot.
much appreciated.
I also found this. could anyone shed some light on it and explain exactly what it means?
http://www.drivingcourses.co.uk/Driving%20Instrutor%20Jobs%20Page.HTM
bwglaw
3rd October 2005, 17:03
Thanks a lot.
much appreciated.
I also found this. could anyone shed some light on it and explain exactly what it means?
http://www.drivingcourses.co.uk/Driving%20Instrutor%20Jobs%20Page.HTM
They have published this statement to disclaim themselves from passing off as another company that they claim has ceased trading. Whether this website is bona fide you need to make some enquiries. It may be worth discussing this website with your local Trading Standards to see if they are known to them.
mark2123
12th October 2005, 20:51
Domain Name:
drivingcourses.co.uk
Registrant:
Mark McMahon
Registrant's Address:
44 Rectory Road
Blackpool
FY4 4DX
GB
Registrant's Agent:
Ramada Computer Systems Ltd [Tag = RAMADA]
URL: http://www.blackpool.net
Relevant Dates:
Registered on: 09-Apr-2000
Renewal Date: 09-Apr-2006
Last updated: 03-Oct-2005
Registration Status:
Registered until renewal date.
Name servers listed in order:
web.blackpool.net 217.205.138.45
web2.blackpool.net 212.100.247.35
clairemackaness
12th October 2005, 22:14
I know it's not much help now, but this is where you should have gone http://www.dsa.gov.uk/tests/online_booking_1.asp the official Driving Standards Agency Booking page.
I hope you get it sorted out
Astaroth
13th October 2005, 08:21
If no moneys have been taken from your account then there is little you can do - after all nothing illegal has occured.
You clearly need to keep a close eye on the account and it may be worth asking your card issuer to cancel the card and reissue another number (in the same way they would if you lost your original card)
If money does get taken then your card issuer will investigate who has done it but giving them the nominet information above will assist them.
esynetics
13th October 2005, 08:31
Just PM'd you
Asteeleleith
20th October 2005, 22:24
As no money was taken it would seem no damage was done. you have rightly cancelled ur card.
On a brighter note, if ur still looking for a residential driving course
try the Wellingborough Driving Academy.
They are legit, it is run by a father and son team. It was the son who got me though.
David smailles is his name. Tell him i said hello if you call.
Business details: 45 Broad Green, Wellingborough, Northamptonshire NN8 4LH
01933224880
No website listed
No email listed
do not be put off by the lack of website, they are still in the dark ages :-)
Al
Ericchen
21st October 2005, 08:17
That happens !In case of losing your confidential information,you'd better cancel all your cards related to your revealed information.Some Internet Criminal is good at hacking into the banking system and removing all your assets overnight.Attention: Financial security is foremost!
Good luck
patel
11th January 2008, 14:26
I recently had driving lessons using the services of this driving school. I was charged for a 6 day course but was only given a 5 day course. Now they will not refund my money for the extra day that I was charged. Also nowhere on the site or brochure does it say that you will have to share tuition, so effectively you only have half the hours of tuition that you have paid for as whoever is sharing the car with you will have the other half. Also i was only booked for five days and actually only had four and a half days tuition shared! They also booked me onto a test which I wasn't allowed to complete so I lost the money for that too. Is there a legal way for me to get at least my one days overbooked tuition back.
If anyone is thinking of using this school to learn to drive I would serioulsy reconsider.
openmind
11th January 2008, 14:31
So the terrible design, lack of SSL cert and poor quality information didn't alert you then?
LINCOLNLORD
13th January 2008, 20:53
For those effected by this company, the company is now dormant/ ceased trading. It's registered address was/is:
Axholme House
North Street
Crowe
S****horpe
DN17 4NB
They booked tests/lessons with other tutors on a self employed basis and had no staff of their own.
Have some more info which may be useful, but can not post on a public forum. Feel free to email me contact@niglincoln.co.uk or PM me
Regards
Iain
sirearl
13th January 2008, 21:08
Phone numbers
01253 319 444 or 01253 314 886
Earl
rjharrison
13th January 2008, 21:15
(FYI: this thread was starting in 2005)
sirearl
13th January 2008, 21:19
come on shift bigger start dates please.