PDA

View Full Version : Is it a virus email?


CG Effect
2nd June 2005, 17:35
I have been sent an email the text looks like some sort of code it isnt any font or language I have seen before, it had a zip file attached too. Could this be a virus or an email gone wrong? I have deleted it.

cheers

Rob Holmes
2nd June 2005, 17:39
Hello,

Not necessarily, it could just be in a font that you don't have installed on your pc.

It's still better to delete it unless you were genuinely expecting a winning lottery message from outer mongolia :)

Rob

CG Effect
2nd June 2005, 17:47
It was sent by administrator@btinternet.com im sure they would have used a common font iff they were who they sound like.

thx

Rob Holmes
2nd June 2005, 18:56
probably a virus then

Rob

coxadmin
3rd June 2005, 06:03
It's also possible that someone is using the email address to make it look genuine. I often get bounced emails for spam that I didn't send.

CG Effect
3rd June 2005, 08:15
Hi guys just got sent another email from them this time in english.

Title "Account Security"
message "Fill in attached form to re enable email account"

Funny how my email is still working. The attached file had a virus according to my antivirus software which is integrated into BT email

CG Effect
3rd June 2005, 08:27
Latest virus advice from the BT site

BT Yahoo! Internet automatically filters viruses from your email, however if you use another supplier for email you may not be protected

Some viruses use false addresses to send from, for example billing@btopenworld.com and accounts@btinternet.com

Please note: BT doesn't send out emails with attachments, so please delete (without opening) any email purporting to be from BT if it arrives with an attachment

This sums up my email questions thanks for the help guys.